My Appointment with Dr. Cobb

This won’t serve as a very good introductory post, but for those of you who know me…this information has been a long time coming.

Here are the results from the tests that were run last week:

Dr. Cobb explained that if you were looking at a house and it had a basement, a first floor, and a second floor; my Free T4 level is sub-basement and my Free T3 level is in the basement.  He wants to try to get those both up to at least the first floor if not on the steps to the second floor.

Thyroid Test Results:

Test Result Reference
Free T4, Thyroxine 0.87 0.89 – 1.76 ng/dL
TSH 3rd Gen 2.725 .0550 – 4.780 uIU/ML
Free T3 2.38 2.3 – 4.2 PG/ML

When looking at my Adrenal Stress Index Free Cortisol Rhythm Test results he said he had never seen numbers as bad as mine.  Michael replied, “when you do something, do it all the way, baby!”  I high-fived him.  I mean, really?  What else are you going to do when you finally have answers?

This gives us conclusive answers to why I feel so fatigued, to the point that I feel like I can’t get out of bed…ever.  My cortisol levels are basically flat-lined.  I have the same amount of free cortisol in my body at 6:00A.M. that you should have in your body at midnight when you should be falling asleep.

Custom ASI (Adrenal Saliva) Test Results:

Free Cortisol Rhythm
06:00 – 08:00 AM 3 Depressed 13-24 nM
11:00 – Noon 3 Depressed 5-10 nM
04:00 – 05:00 PM 3 Normal 3-8 nM
10:00 – Midnight 2 Normal 1-4 nM
Cortisol Load 11 23-42 nM
DHEA 2 Depressed 3-10 ng/ml

So, I have officially been diagnosed with both Adrenal Fatigue and Hypothyroidism.  I’ve started a few supplements with more to come and Dr. Cobb thinks that by the time I see him for our original follow-up appointment on October 6th I’ll be able to tell a difference.  However, he also said that it will be 2-3 years before my body is producing the hormones that it should be on its own again.  It’s definitely going to be an uphill battle, but one that I feel better prepared to fight now that I know the enemy.

This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Dr. Cobb. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Appointment with Dr. Cobb

  1. Anita says:

    I’m so glad I stopped to read this because I think I must have missed parts of it when we talked on the phone. I totally missed the Hypothyroidism part! I’m pretty sure either Janet or one of her sister’s has that. So maybe there is a family gene link here…

Leave a Reply

